1857. Nov. 26. J. A. Macdonald-Cartier Administration. Dec. 31, Ottawa chosen by Queen Victoria as future Capital of Canada.

1858. Feb. Discovery of gold in Fraser July 1, Intro-River valley. duction of Canadian decimal currency. Aug. 2, Brown-Dorion Administration. Aug. 5, completion of the Atlantic cable; first message sent. Aug. 6, Cartier-J. A. Macdonald Administration. Aug. 20, Colony of British Columbia established. Control of Vancouver Island surrendered by the Hudson's Bay Company.

1859. Jan., Canadian silver coinage issued. Sept. 24, Government moved to Quebec.

1860. Aug. 8, The Prince of Wales (King Edward VII) arrives at Quebec. Sept. 1, Laying of the corner stone of the Parliament building at Ottawa by the Prince of Wales. Prince of Wales College, Charlottetown founded.

1861. Aug. 14, Great flood at Montreal-Sept. 10, Meeting of the first Anglican Provincial Synod. Nov. 2, Viscount Monk governor in Chief.

1862. May 24, Sandfield Macdonald-Sicotte Administration. Aug. 2, Victoria, B.C., incorporated.

Victoria, B.C., incorporated.

1863. May 16, Sandfield Macdonald—
Dorion Administration.

1864. March 30, Taché-J. A. Macdonald Administration. Conferences on Confederation of British North America: Sept. 1, at Charlottetown; Oct. 10-29, at Quebec. Oct. 19, Raid of American Confederates from Canada on St. Albans, Vermont.

1865. Feb. 3, The Canadian Legislature resolves on an address to the Queen praying for Union of the provinces of British North America. Aug. 7, Belleau-J. A. Macdonald Administration. Oct. 20, Proclamation fixing the seat of Government at Ottawa.

1866. Mar. 17, Termination of the Reciprocity Treaty by the United States. May 31, Raid of Fenians from the United States into Canada; they are defeated at Ridgeway (June 2) and retreat across the border (June 3). June 8, First meeting at Ottawa of the Canadian Legislature.

Nov. 17, Proclamation of the union of Vancouver Island to British Columbia.

1867. March 29, Royal assent given to the British North America Act. July 1, The Act comes into force; Union of the provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick as the Dominion of Canada; Upper and Lower Canada made separate provinces as Ontario and Quebec; Viscount Monck first Governor General, Sir John A. Macdonald premier. Nov. 6, Meeting of the first Dominion Parliament.

1868. April 7, Murder of D'Arcy McGee at Ottawa. July 31, The Rupert's Land Act authorizes the acquisition by the Dominion of the Northwest Territories. Dec. 29, Sir John Young (Lord Lisgar) Governor General.

1869. June 22, Act providing for the government of the Northwest Territories. Nov. 19, Deed of surrender to the Crown of the Hudson's Bay Company's territorial rights in the Northwest. Outbreak of the Red River Rebellion under Riel.

1870. May 12, Act to establish the province of Manitoba. July 15, Northwest Territories transferred to the Dominion and Manitoba admitted into Confederation. Sept. 24, Wolseley's expedition reaches Fort Garry (Winnipeg); end of the rebellion.

1871. April 2, First Dominion census. April 14, Act establishing uniform currency in the Dominion. May 8, Treaty of Washington, dealing with questions outstanding between the United Kingdom and United States. July 20, British Columbia enters Confederation.

1872. May 22, The Earl of Dufferin Governor General.

1873. March 5, Opening of the second Dominion Parliament. May 23, Act establishing the Northwest Mounted Police. July 1, Prince Edward Island enters Confederation. Nov. 7, Alexander Mackenzie premier. Nov. 8, Incorporation of Winnipeg.

1874. March 26, Opening of the third Dominion Parliament. May, Ontario Agricultural College, Guelph, opened.